Marie Curie, karate chopping stereotypes (+sponsor love)

Mariecurie

Marie Curie. She is undoubtedly one of the greatest scientists ever. And she is a woman.

Only one in seven engineers is a woman. Less than 20% of computer science majors are women. The number of women working in STEM (science, technology, engineering, math) fields is the same as it was in 2000. That is pathetic. Unfortunately, most women don’t even think of science or math fields as an option. Women should be in journalism or English, right? Wrong! Women have been revolutionizing science for centuriesI think learning about other females in STEM fields is essential–to prove to women that we do great things, in the past and in the future.

Take Marie Curie for example. She won two Nobel Prizes, in two different fields (Physics and Chemistry) and she was the first female to do so. She discovered two new elements, polonium and radium, which was used to first study ways of curing cancer. She taught as the first female professor at the University of Paris.

Basically, she’s my hero. But we can learn some stuff from her.

Take risks! I mean, I don’t really think we should carry test tubes of radioactive chemicals in our pockets, but look what she did when she wasn’t worrying about the risks!

Don’t be afraid to do what no one else does. In that period of time, women in science were even rarer than they are today (duh). Marie was the first female to win a Nobel Prize and the first female professor at the University of Paris. But because she wasn’t afraid of being alone in what she did, she made great steps for women and science.

Lastly, stay away from radioactive stuff. Apparently it can kill you. (But really).

-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~

Speaking of awesome, I’m so excited to introduce my newest sponsor to you, Kayte of Floradrenaline. Kayte is basically my bolder/more outspoken/more badass alter ego and I’m so excited to share her with all of you! By the way, she lives in ALASKA! When she told me that I was like ummm can I be youUnfortunately, I can’t be her. She’s got it covered. Anyways, Kayte blogs about fashion, health (especially mental), her life and she participates in Weekly Wishes! She also has some of the coolest Pinterest boards (link below) I’ve ever seen.

kayte of floradrenaline

Three Awesome Posts from Floradrenaline: Tips and Tricks for Small Apartments / How to: Three Edgy-Chic Outfits for Summertime / Coping Skills for Depression and Anxiety

Hang out with Kayte: Blog / Twitter / Facebook / Pinterest

What do you think of Marie Curie and other women in science? Awesome, right? And how about Kayte?! Go give her some blog love!

7 thoughts on “Marie Curie, karate chopping stereotypes (+sponsor love)

  1. I LOVE THIS POST!!! Growing up, my main interests were in arts and crafts, science, history (especially ancient Egypt and China, dinosaurs and The Golden Age of Piracy) and mythology (plus archaeology.) I still love all of the above, and so much more! Growing up, I also had about ten microscopes, no lie! and I would carry around a field journal of sorts, that I would rub dirt samples in and tape down leaves and document insects. ^_^

    So I really love seeing this. I loathe gender stereotypes, both by people from the opposite gender but even more so from our own gender. You kick ass, lady. :)

    Also, I adore Kayte!!!

    • Ahh thank you sweet girl! I just can’t stop learning new things and I hate when women think it’s not their job to be educated and work in research or any other intellectual field. We limit ourselves just because that’s what we’ve always known!

      I definitely nerd out to science (dinosaurs!) and math and history (I love American + WWII history!) and I just can’t keep that off the blog, even if that’s not the “popular” thing to blog about.

      Thanks for your kind words again! I’m so glad to have you as a reader.

  2. Pingback: Catching My Eye 08. | Call Me Sassafras

  3. Pingback: Marie Curie | kjmhoffman

  4. Pingback: The Good & Bad of Living in Alaska | Call Me Sassafras

  5. Pingback: July in Favorites | Call Me Sassafras

  6. Pingback: Patience is a Virtue- Guest Post - Kayli Wanders

Your thoughts here:

